North West Infidels NWI

This article is about the London Borough of Waltham Forest which was formed in 1965 when the three Essex districts of Leyton, Walthamstow and Chingford were combined and included in the newly formed Greater London Council. My family had moved to a street just on the border of Leyton and Walthamstow (near but not Boundary Road) a few years earlier. Leyton and Walthamstow was a lovely place to live with the open space of Epping Forest and the River Lea nearby.    The River Lea was the boundary between the counties of Middlesex and  Essex; it remains the boundary between LB Hackney and LB Waltham Forest.  Chingford was more prosperous, almost glamorous with its golf club and Queen Elizabeth’s Hunting Lodge. Today Leyton and Walthamstow are very multicultural, Chingford remains more middle class and I know of many who live there who would dearly love to drop the other two towns, which they…

View original post 2,447 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s